An Early Thai Excursion

Today has been a good day. Even though my reason for being here is based off of misfortune, I am fortunate to have this experience. I’m in Bangkok, Thailand! 
 

A street food vendor in Thailand
 
As you may know, I’m doing a media fellowship with the Phnom Penh Post in Cambodia for a year. I just started working a few weeks ago and just moved into my own apartment last Friday. I haven’t unpacked and I am the furthest thing away from settled. 

So why am I in Bangkok? 

I had to do a “border run.” Meaning, due to some miscommunication, I got the wrong visa upon arrival and have to flee the country and return in order to get my yearlong work visa. So what better place to go than Thailand? Thanks to the “Two Kingdoms, One Visa” law and an amazing PiA fellow willing to host me, Thailand was clearly the most affordable and comfortable option. I’ve always wanted to visit Thailand so it turned out to be a win-win.

 

More Thai Street Food
 
Since I’ve been here I’ve eaten an incredibly spicy Thai mushroom soup, tried strange fruit(that I still don’t know the names of) sold on the street, and have tried “Japanese cold bread.” It was such a treat! A mountain of milky ice covered in what seemed to be chocolate syrup and soft Oreos surrounded by a pond of milk and accompanied by actual chunks of bread! It was a delicious treat and definitely something worth trying.     

 
I’m off to making the most of my weekend here. Later ✌🏾️

One thought on “An Early Thai Excursion

Leave a Reply

